Lettuce Wrap

The word ‘Lettuce’ makes me laugh, almost as much as cucumber. When I was a child, the lady who watched me while my mom was at work used to pronounce it like “lay-tuse”. So Igbo right?

IMG_0100

Anyway, on to the actual blog post. I’ve been trying to eat healthier than I’m used to. Shocking, right? lol. This decision came after I realized that I’m stuck with this body forever. This is my forever body. As scary as that sounds, I’ve come to accept it and actually try to keep my body (and mind) healthy. I mean, if I’m gonna be stuck in this body, might as well treat it right.

So, I’ve been more physically active, I drink more water, and I try to eat less junk. This means I have to mute the little voice in my head that makes me want to eat cake and cookies at midnight. It also means I have to limit how much brioche I eat every week, and even means I have to eat “old people’s food” like oatmeal in the morning.

Sounds horrible, I know! But it’s not that bad, I promise.

IMG_0091

Here’s what my daily meal schedule looks like: I eat breakfast between 8am and 11 am, a snack (typically fruits) at about noon, lunch between 1pm and 2pm, another snack (fruits, veggies, nuts, or yoghurt), and dinner before 8pm. I try not to eat carbs for dinner. So I’ll eat things like chicken/ fish with veggies, eggplant parmesan, or  lettuce wraps.

Lettuce wraps are by far my favorite of my dinner options. It’s so quick to make and it tastes sooooooooooo good!

All you need to make a lettuce wrap is: Ground beef (feel free to use turkey, lamb, fish, shrimp, tofu, or mushrooms), Spices (salt, ginger powder, knorr cubes, thyme), Onions, 1/2 a scotch bonnet1 tomato, 2 handfuls of grated cheese (I used cheddar).

IMG_0098.JPG

Process

In a heated frying pan, pour in the ground beef (or substitute) and season to your taste. Also add in the chopped onions and scotch bonnet. Notice I didn’t use any oil. The beef secretes its juices as it cooks.

While the meat is cooking, wash the lettuce and tomatoes; and chop the tomatoes. Place the lettuce “sheets” on a flat plate. I used two for each wrap and overlapped them in the middle.

Once the meat is cooked, dish it onto the lettuce “taco shells”, sprinkle on the chopped onions and cheese, and voila! It’s done!!

IMG_0092

Leave a Reply

