“Jollof” Quinoa Recipe

IMG_0258_.jpg

“Quinoa tastes like dirt.”

“It’s horrible! Why would you eat that?”

“Please, rice is okay for me.”

Literally people’s thoughts about quinoa.

I bought a bag of quinoa months ago. I was eager to try it. But, hearing what people had to say about it made me put it all the way at the e of my cabinet.

Yesterday, I grew a pair and tried it as part of my lean diet.

I read on a few websites that I’ll need to wash it at least five times to get the bitter taste off. That scared me a little.

IMG_0267_.jpgProcess

I used about one cups of quinoa as a test. 

First, I washed it with warm water (4x) and once with salt, just to make sure.

After that, I boiled it with about 2 cups of water.

At this point, I wasn’t really sure what I was doing but, I kept on with it.

After boiling it for about 15 minutes, I added in my leftover stew and a bit more water and let it cook for another 10 minutes. And just like that, it was ready!

IMG_0286_.jpg

Hidden Truth: It was REALLLLLLLY good! I’m actually considering dropping rice and eating this instead!

Try it out and let me know what you think! Also, if you have any other quinoa recipes, please share!

IMG_0276_.jpg

Leave a Reply

