Valentine’s Sweets: Donuts (VIDEO)

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!

Today, I’m celebrating everyone that’s been a blessing in my life– my family, my friends, even people I met just once but left a print on my heart. I’m thankful for each and every one of you.

I think  today is a lot more than flowers, chocolate, or fancy dinners and surprises. It’s a day that reminds us of how important it is to spread love. In elementary school, we used to sing this song during our morning assemblies

"Love is something when you give it away, give it away

Love is something when you give it away, 

You end up getting more.

It is just like a golden penny, 

Hold it tight and you won't get any..."

That’s all I remember, lol!

So today (and every other day), show someone they are loved. Remind them that they are special.

One way to do this is by making these amazing valentine’s themed donuts.

It was my first time making donuts on my own, so they weren’t perfect. IMG_9701.JPG

Here’s what you’ll need

Ingredients

– 1 cup of milk, warmed
– 2 packets of dry active yeast
– 2 tablespoons of sugar
– 2 cups of flour, plus extra for dusting
– A pinch of salt
– 1 egg
– 1 stick of
– 1 teaspoon of Vanilla extract
– Cooking oil

Tools:

– Baking sheets
– Parchment paper
– Rolling pin
– Sauce pan or pot
– Spatula

img_9672img_9677

Video Tutorial

 


As promised, here’s how to make the glaze

Ingredients:

– 1/2 cup of icing sugar
– 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
– 2 tablespoons on milk
add coloring or cocoa powder
– sprinkles (optional)

Method:

Mix all the ingredients together until you get a smooth thick paste. Dip in the donuts and set them aside till the glaze hardens. That’s it!

img_9702 img_9693

Lessons learned:

I’ll add butter to my dough and a bit more sugar so it’s sweet on it’s own. I might try caster sugar instead

I made my glaze too runny, next time I’ll make it thicker, and use less coloring. The pink ended up looking red too lol.

Spread the Love!

 

Leave a Reply

